Day One

Okay, here we go!

Can I just say that I was extremely nervous to start this blog? I wasn’t sure what to do, or what to expect…actually, I’m still not quite sure.  All I know for a fact is that I want to be a NEW YORK TIMES #1 BEST SELLING AUTHOR and I know to get something I’ve never had, I have to do some things I’ve never done. So…here goes nothing.

I’ve always loved to write. Truth be told, that’s all I’ve ever good at doing. Oh, and reading. I’m very good at reading. I can devour books. I tear through them. (I’m not going to tell you how fast I read The Hunger Games…nope, not gonna do it….ok, two days. You read that right. 3 books in 48 hours.)

Because I’ve always excelled and reading and writing, naturally, one would want to become a writer, right? WRONG. At one point I wanted to be a singer, specifically Brandy. Then, I wanted to be a meteorologist, but when I realized that contained science..that’s where that dream died. Later, it was a lawyer, then a judge. Then, an investigative journalist (this is when CSI came out in the early 2000’s) and journalism just clicked with me.

I wrote for my high school newspaper, I majored in Mass Communications and Journalism when I went to Towson University in the fall of 2005 and it wasn’t until the great recession that I realized I hated journalism. I hate facts and that damn inverted pyramid. I wanted to write what I wanted to write which leads me to now: 2012. Finally, I’ve discovered what I’ve wanted this whole time: a passion.

I’ve never wanted anything so passionately than I want to be an YA author. To see something I’ve worked so hard on gleam on a Barnes and Noble shelf one day…man, I can hardly imagine. (I’m crying just thinking about it.) So, I’ve taken a few writing classes and started working HARD on my second novel. But, really all I am armed with is my unwavering passion for writing and my undeniable talent.

I hope to one day change a young person’s life like so many authors have changed mine. Thank you to Lois Lowry, Judy Blume, Alex Flinn, Chris Crutcher, Meg Cabot, Sarah Dessen and the GOAT (greatest of all time) J.K. Rowling.

I hope that you will embark on this journey to being a published author with me. On this blog I will keep you updated on my daily battles in my writing career, post samples of my work for your comments, and be totally open and honest with you. Besides you’re my audience and one day you’ll be reading my book. *screams on the inside*

It’s just me & my manuscript and WE just gotta make it.

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL WORKS ON THIS SITE HAVE BEEN COPY WRITTEN. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Love,
Necole S. Ryse

6 thoughts on “Day One

  1. Repenzla Simms says:

    Stay the course and keep the faith! Passion and consistent hard work will make your dreams and goals a reality. Much love!!!

    Like

  2. Morrisa says:

    I LOVE YOU SPEC!!! YOU GO GIRLLLL!!! God’s gotcha back! I’M WITH YOU, RIDE OR DIE, BAD GIRLS FOR LIFE…okay I’m done! lol

    Like

  3. Quiana says:

    You read The Hunger Games triology in 48 hrs? I’m still trying to finish the first installment, but I killed a spider with it so now I don’t want to touch it.

    50 shades of grey on the other hand…..

    oh yea, and I like the name change. It’s like African-American section of Barnes & Noble, and more front of the store.

    Passion makes all the difference in the world. It makes everything worth the battle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

