Review: Blackout

BLACKOUT by Robison Wells

url


Synopsis:
Laura, Alec and Dan are apart of a terrorist organization. They are taking out all of America’s landmarks one by one. And the military can’t track them or stop them.

Aubrey and Jack were just regular kids until Aubrey discovered she can disappear. And Jack has super-hearing and eyesight. Then the military quarantined them all. They were tested and recruited for war.

A war against kids like Laura, Alec and  Dan. Lambdas. Kids infected by a virus that gives them more power than they can handle.


First line:

“Ready?” Alec asked, looking in the rearview mirror at Dan, whose eyes were closed in a kind of nervous meditation.


Favorite Lines: 

He wondered how bright it really was–whether he should be able to see each of Aubrey’s eyelashes, the splashes of color in her irises. He used to think her eyes were gray, but they weren’t; they were blue and green and yellow and brown. They were like little impressionist paintings, filled with a hundred colors that created the illusion of gray.


Review (My thoughts):  

First things first, this took me a while to get through. Not because it wasn’t interesting or anything. It was. It really was interesting. I’ve never read a book like this before besides Divergent. (as far as the whole training kids for war thing) I like Well’s writing. It’s simple, easy to follow. There isn’t a lot of flowery/poetic language. It’s straight to the point and that works in a novel like this that has action-action-action on almost every page. At the same time, there was a good balance of action and exposition, character and world building. The plot was set up very nicely. So nicely in fact, I just knew there would be a cliff hanger ending. I was literally 4 or 5 pages from the end and then it just…………… ended. There was a resolution. But I guess after so much set up I was looking for a much bigger pay-off at the end. The whole time I wanted something to happen. I just knew if I kept reading, if I kept turning pages, I would be able to get the satisfactory ending. But, it wasn’t. There’s no other way for me to describe it. Everything was summed up in about two paragraphs. There is a sequel, but I don’t think I’d read it. Sorry to say, but I don’t care what happens to Aubrey and Jack. I liked the book for the set-up and the world. If the ending was better I would have given it another star. Still, I would recommend it. Maybe you’d get something different out of it!

tumblr_n4kc2ffJui1txb8sho1_500

But, try Wells’ Variant! Now, that’s a good book!


Untitledimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing
3 glasses – Liked it a lot


*Buy Links*

 Amazon | B&N 

Leave a Reply

