Review: Dead Girl Walking

DEAD GIRL WALKING by Ruth Silver

Dead Girl Walking by Ruth Silver


Synopsis:

Ophelia Dacre is a princess who sneaks out of her castle often to visit her boyfriend, Larkin, who is not royal in any sense of the word. Turns out the night she visits him, she is brutally murdered. When she awakens in the afterlife she is given a choice, cross over or become a grim reaper. She must cut ties with her old life, change her name and appearance and become a grim reaper. But, Ophelia or Leila Belle, has a hard time following the reaper rules. She soon finds out that every action, dead and undead, has a consequence.


First line:

Ophelia waited until her family was asleep.


Favorite Lines: 

Listen, kid. I don’t care what you believe in. It’s not for me to say what’s true and untrue, real or unreal. My assignment was you. You get to be one of us, if you want it. Otherwise, you move on, life is over, kaput.


Review (My thoughts): 

Let me just start with this. I hate HATE giving anything less than 3 stars. But I have to be honest.

giphy-1

I signed up to review this book because I participated in a book blitz and the synopsis pulled me in. I’ve never read a book about grim reapers so I was really intrigued. It has a great cover, a great synopsis, excellent excerpts and reviews. I really wanted to like it. I wanted to fall in love with the characters and the story line like everyone else had in the reviews. But, I didn’t.

Ophelia Darce did not move me. She was a flat character with no real emotions or reactions. I had no reason to care for her or her family or the supporting cast of characters because there was no background to her or her family. We landed in the middle of the story and trekked from there to the ending. I really did want to like her though. I wanted to feel bad for her, but I didn’t mostly because of the lack of emotion in the book. Ophelia chose to be a grim reaper with little or no thought. If I saw my dead body with my own throat slashed I think I would throw up, scream, something. She didn’t even panic.

Also, there were some fact checking errors where Ophelia thought or mentioned something before it was actually revealed in the book — and I don’t mean foreshadowing.

For example, in Chapter 2 it says, “She pulled out the scroll, relieved that it was still blank. She didn’t have an assignment yet, but that didn’t mean she wouldn’t have one soon.” Ophelia had just signed the contract to become a grim reaper (the scroll). She did not know the intricacies of the job yet. How could she have known she would get assignments on the scroll? Two pages later she asks, “What do I do exactly? I mean as a reaper. How does it work?” Then, her scroll/assignments are explained.

This occurs again in Chapter 2 when she asks if reapers get paid for their services. She is told she gets room, board and a stipend. The very next page she walks into her new room and sees that she doesn’t have any clothes in her closet. The very next sentence: “She’d have to find out if reapers were paid a stipend.”

giphy

This book has a lot of potential to be good. I think the writing needs to be revised, and some real emotion and plot needs to be thrust into it. It could be a very good book. Right now, it seems bare-bones and flat, almost like a first draft.

Again, I really wanted to love this book. I just…didn’t.

Maybe you will?


Untitledimg-thingimg-thing
2 glasses – It was ok


*Buy Links*

 Amazon | B&N

Leave a Reply

