Review: The Vicious Deep

THE VICIOUS DEEP by Zoraida Cordova

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova


Synopsis:
Tristan Hart was living a normal life as a lifeguard. Summers on Coney Island were simple. Easy. Until a storm broke through the sky. And he goes missing for three days. When he emerges, he has no memory of what happened. He has new skin. He can smell vividly.

And he’s sporting a tail. Tristan is the heir to the sea. And he’s fighting an age-old battle he practically knows nothing about.


First line:

I hear the first wave before I see it-


Favorite Lines: 

Mer-kin, maybe all immortals, don’t necessarily fall in love. Forever is awfully long, and the oceans are vast.

 

Layla stands talking to him. I can see her from here. My stomach tightens in that nervous way before you see the person you’ve been thinking about for days, the person whose face you see right before you think you’re going to die. Because that’s what it was like. Before the wave hit, before the morrows attacked each time, before Elias had a death grip around my windpipe, I saw her face.


Review (My thoughts): 

Okay, listen. I know I say this a lot, but I really do love. this. book.

The Vicious Deep was recommended to me a long time ago and while I was searching for something else to read I remembered I was given a shining recommendation to check out this book. So, I did. And I’m so glad I listened. First, let me just say that I’m a sucker for all things mermaid and underwater. So, when I found out this was really a book about a merMAN I was instantly like….

giphy

Okay, let’s get to the meat and potatoes. Cordova’s writing was so believable as a teenage boy that I had to Google the author’s name just to see if it was a male or female.

Tristan Hart was born in the water. After he attempted to save a drowning person in the ocean, he was dragged under the current. Three days later he woke up in a hospital with no memory of what happened. Everyone thought he’d died. Now Tristan can smell everything around him. He has flashes of a mermaid with sharp white teeth and bruises and scratches he can’t explain. He knows something is wrong but he can’t put a finger on it until one night he sprouts a merman tail.

Suddenly, the rug is pulled from under him. His grandfather, The Sea King, is dying and Tristan is the rightful heir. Tristan, knowing next to nothing about the sea, his grandfather, or his ancestry, is thrust into a world where he is competing with three other boys who are seeking the kingdom. He must find all three pieces of his grandfather’s trident in order to become the next King.

I love Cordova’s writing. At some points it was simple and others it was complex; poetic even. There were times when I had to reread some parts because it literally made me sigh. I think every writer knows that sigh where you wish you could write like that. The way she described some emotions as smells were genius! Pure genius! My mind was blown.

giphy-3

I loved the characters. They were believable and complex at the same time. Everyone served their own purpose in the story. The plot was revealed slowly and carefully. I didn’t feel like the conversations or the scenes were forced or rushed. Everything happened in its own time and it was done very, very well.

The only person I didn’t like was Maddy, Tristan’s ex-girlfriend. She was just…yuck. And that’s all I can say about her.

In short, READ. THIS. BOOK.


Untitledimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing
5 glasses – I’m totally obsessed!


*Buy Links*

 Amazon | B&N 

One thought on “Review: The Vicious Deep

Leave a Reply

