Review: Legend

LEGEND by Marie Lu

marie-lu-legend[1]


Synopsis:
June is a military prodigy, bred and born for success in the Republic. Day is the Republic’s most wanted criminal. The two were never supposed to cross paths until June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the number one suspect. While Day races to save his family and June wants to avenge her brother’s death, the two uncover the sinister truth about the Republic and about each other.


First line:

My mother thinks I’m dead. Obviously I’m not dead, but it’s safer for her to think so.


Review (My thoughts):  

I hate this cover.

I had to get it out. Now that that’s over…

giphy-3

I liked this book a lot. I kept seeing it around. I follow a lot of book nerds on Instagram and other social media outlets and this book has been featured several times in my feed. So, I decided to check it out. And honestly, I’m glad I did. Here’s why:

1. It’s an original/same-old-same-old story. Here’s what I mean. I’ve read dozens of books where the main characters contrast in their social status and fall in love. You could probably name at least 3 books you’ve read where this has occurred. I’ve also read a million dystopian novels where the government is covering up some catastrophic injustice they are imposing on a group of individuals. BUT! I haven’t read anything quite like Legend because June is a military prodigy while Day is “most wanted”. She is sent to capture him, and at the very least avenge her brother’s death, but the two fall in love.

2. Romance is slow. June and Day come from different worlds. So it wasn’t until about a quarter of the way through when their lives crossed paths. Now, I have read a million and one YA books so I knew what would happen since all these books lack so much “depth”.

Anyway, June was convinced Day was nothing but a common criminal until she lived a few days in his shoes on the streets and she started to change her attitude toward him. They developed more of a friendship first rather than a relationship. They were, of course, physically attracted to one another, but I could see how someone like June who had lived such a strict lifestyle could be attracted to Day’s outgoing/rebel nature.

Here’s what I don’t like:

The end. WTF was that?!?

giphy-4

It came out of nowhere. It was pretty obvious (at least to me) who killed June’s brother. But the way she discovered what the government was really up to was slightly unbelievable to me. Metias seemed meticulous, yes. But I’m not convinced that by reading his diaries and picking out a few misspelled words could unravel the mystery she’d been trying to solve for this entire time. It seemed…rushed. It didn’t match up with the rest of the book. Everything was so well planned and then the ending just sort of exploded, literally. I’m not a fan of the ending and after reading it I wasn’t invested to see whether June or Day survived. I don’t care anymore. I probably won’t read book 2, but I did enjoy book 1.

My advice? Read until page 200 and then make your own ending. It’s better that way.


Untitledimg-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing
4 glasses- Loved it! Would recommend.


*Buy Links*

 Amazon | B&N

Leave a Reply

